Food Allergy Talk.com

Education | Empowerment | Support

Welcome to Learning from other People's Questions!

And Answers!

Soy Yougart-no milk

"Is it possible to find soy yogurt which does not have milk-based cultures?"

I did some research and see that Silk yogurt does NOT use milk-based cultures for their yogurt. 
http://www.silksoymilk.com/products/silksoyyogurt.aspx
On the Slik Frequently Asked Questions, it states that the yogurts ARE dairy free:

Are Silk products dairy-free?
All Silk products including Silk Creamer and Silk Live!™ Soy Yogurt are completely dairy-free and safe for people with dairy allergies. None of our ingredients are made from animal products, by-products or derivatives. Our natural flavors do not contain any dairy or other animal products. See our Products section to find nutritional information by clicking on the product you are interested in eating.
http://www.silksoymilk.com/FAQ.aspx#AL-1

Coconut- nut or fruit?
Q.  "My daughter is allergic to peanuts, tree nuts and egg whites. 
Are coconuts considered tree nuts or fruit?"
 
A.   This question really had me digging to find the answer!  Here's the short answer:
Coconut is a fruit, not a nut.
The fruit family is very large, with many sub categories.  One of those categories is the "DRUPE" sub category.  Drupes are fruits with a hard outer covering and inside the covering is the pit, or soft inside, and finally the seed.  Coconuts are in the drupe family.
Nuts are also in the fruit family, but they are in the "Indehiscent" subcategory of dried fruits.
Therefore, coconuts and nuts are in the fruit family, but not in the same subcategories.
If you are too confused, visit this website with some visual pictures:
http://www.botanical-online.com/frutoscarnososangles.htm#semaforverd
 
 
Almond Reaction
Q.   "I may  say that I know  what I had ,however I'd like to share my experience .
I, literally ate 3 almonds (salted from cane) as a snack . In the morning I woke up in severe stomach pain. My whole digestive track was in pain. I started to drink lots of hot unsweetened tea (about 4,5 cups) and began to vomit It took the whole day and night when I finally started to feel better. I am  still very dazed and stunned by what happened to me.
My question is : Could 3 almonds caused that strong intolerance??  I remember that about 2 years ago I had the same symptoms after having eaten almonds too."
 
A.  Yes; you can have a severe reaction to as little as three almonds.  Some people even react to simply smelling their allergy food.  It just takes a small amount for some people to react.  You should definately avoid all almonds and any food containing almonds.
 
 
SOY FREE Cream of Soup
Q.  "I am trying to locate a basic cream soup recipe without soy. I have been unable to locate a canned soup or processed soup mix without soy.
Thanks."
 
A.  I found a soy-free recipe for cream soup.  I hope this helps you!!!
Please email me back if you still have questions or concerns.  Thanks!
 
Condensed Cream Soup

Copyright © 2002  by  Amber Lee. 
1 cup cold milk
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1 1/2 Tbsp butter
1 tsp chicken bouillon
1/2 tsp salt 
dash of pepper 
  1. In a small saucepan, whisk milk and cornstarch till well blended. 
  2. Stir in butter, bouillon, salt, and pepper. 
  3. Heat to a boil, stirring frequently. Simmer on low for one minute more to thicken.
Use in recipes to replace one can of cream of anything soup.   


Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup:
Stir in a drained 4 ounce can of mushroom pieces to the recipe above.  
Use in recipes in place of one can of Cream of Mushroom Soup. 

Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup:
Stir in 1/2 cup cooked chicken pieces to the recipe above.  
Use in recipes in place of one can of Cream of Chicken Soup. 
  
Condensed Cream of Celery Soup:
Stir in 1/2 cup sautéed chopped celery to the recipe above.  
Use in recipes in place of one can of Cream of Celery Soup. 

  LINK:

http://www.gfutah.org/recipes/Condensed%20Cream%20Soup.html

 
Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
Q.  "I came across your site because I was looking for alternatives to soy sauce containing wheat gluten. it seems it all has it. Do you know of anything "like" soy sauce that does not contain wheat gluten?"  
 
A.  I have found 3 types of soy sauce (one organic and one regular) from ShopByDiet.com
Just go to www.shopbydiet.com and enter "Soy Sauce" in the "product search" box.  The top three items will be different soy sauces that you can use.
 
I also found this recipe where you can make your own soy sauce:
Gluten Free Soy Sauce Substitute   
Makes 330ml/11fl.oz

Ingredients

240ml/8fl.oz Molasses 

90ml/3fl.oz. Balsamic Vinegar

Sugar to taste

 

Instructions

 

1. Place all the ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix until well blended.

 

Source:  http://www.recipes4us.co.uk/Specials%20and%20Holidays/Special%20Diets%20Allergies/gluten_free_soy_sauce_substitute.htm

 
 
Chicken Allergies?
 
Q.  "Hi, my friend loves to eat chicken very much..however, recently she
suspected that she is allergic to chicken.  According to her, she would
develop swollen eyes or a few pink spots around the eye area after eating
kfc and grill seaweed chicken sold in the canteen. I am concerned and wanted
to find out more about this allergy so as to help her.I have told her to
stop eating chicken and it has been really difficult for her. One of the
causes we suspect is the hormones that they inject in the chicken. can you
pls tell me the harmfulness of this  hormones and what this hormaones can do
to her. Pls tell me everything you know about this allergy or any useful
websites that might help her.I need ur help very much."
 
A.  "The reaction (swollen eyes and pink spots) can be caused by the chicken itself, or it could be the hormones.  If she is sensitive to other chemicals (either smells, or other chemicals) then it is probably the hormones/injections. 
    The way to test this:
Let her eat ORGANIC chicken, and see if the same symptoms occur.  If they do, then she is allergic to the chicken itself.  (Organic foods have no injections, chemicals, or hormones)."
 

Corn-Free Med's
 
Q.  "I am trying to find medications that are corn-free. For example, a substitute for Tylenol and Motrin for when I or my children get high fevers. Do you know of any??"
 
A.  I myself use homeopathic pills from the company Boiron (website:http://www.boironusa.com).  For the symptoms you described (fevers), I use the "Belladonna".  These come in two potencies-30c and 6c.  Use the 30c (6c is very weak).  They are small pills that you keep under your tongue until they dissolve.  *Don't touch the pills- you twist the cap to dispense.  For one dose, use three of the little pills, and take it three doses a day for five days. 
    There are many different kinds of these pills; for a numerous amount of symptoms and problems.  (you always take three pills, but the amount of times to take them varies). 
    We buy these pills at Whole Foods, Sprouts, Henry's, and Sunflower stores. 
    If you have any questions-please e-mail me back!
 
note: I am not a doctor, and not responsible for this suggestion.  This is just what I have been told to use by my homeopathic doctor.  They are over the counter (not a prescription)

Pine Nuts=Tree Nuts?

Q.  "Are pine nuts considered tree nuts?"

A.  Yes-  Tree nuts include almond, brazil nut, cashew, hazelnut, macadamia, pecan, pine nut, pistachio, and walnut.
                 Source:Living Without Magazine.  (spring 2006)

Macadamia & Brazil Nuts

Q.  "I had an allergic reaction to macadamia nuts once and have never ate them again, but grabbed a handful of cashews, almonds, pecans and brazil nuts as a snack and had the same reaction as with the macadamia nuts and the only nut I haven't eaten before is the brazil nut, do these nuts have anything in common, macadamia and brazil nut? Thanks for any info you can give me."

A.  "I have been researching, and so far I have found that macadamia nuts and brazil nuts are not in the same family.  The brazil and macadamia nuts seem to have not much in common, so you probably reacted because you are simply allergic to the brazil nut also, and that is just the way you react. 

I did discover a VERY interesting fact though...Brazil nuts and macadamia nuts BOTH have Omega-3 and Omega-6.  All the other nuts/peanuts seem to NOT have these (except for walnuts, they also have Omega-3 and Omega-6).  I don't know if this has anything to do with your reactions to both macadamia and brazil nuts.  Here is the web address to the website that I found this information:  http://www.naturalhub.com/natural_food_guide_nuts_common.htm#Macadamia"

Peanuts vs. Soy

Q.  "If someone has a peanut allergy, but not a soy allergy, can they have soy nuts?"

A.  Soy nuts are actually made from soya beans (soy beans), that have been soaked and then baked.  HOWEVER, both soybeans and peanuts belong to the legume family, so I would avoid both soy and peanuts.  (Full list of legume family: click here).

sources http://www.soya.be/what-are-soy-nuts.php

 


Q.     WHAT IS GLUTEN???
A.     Gluten is the genaric name for certain types of proteins contained in the common careal grains wheat, barly, rye, and other derivatives.  Gluten is also a tenacious elastic protein substance especially of wheat flour that gives cohesiveness to dough.  It is also becoming increasingly known for it's ability to cause a "toxic immur responce" in many genetically pre-disposed individuals.  Oats are not recommended because of potential unacceptable levels of contamination.

Q.     WHAT IS GLIADIN???
A.     It is a thought to be toxic, and is a protein sub-fraction of gluten.  It is  the component in gluten grains that are closley linked to the chronic intestinal disorder known as caliac disease, along with a daunting list of other non-celiac medical conditions and symptoms.  And the only way to get around this disorder, is to eliminate gluten from the diet.

Q.     What are some other diseases linked to celiac disease?
A.     Dermatita herpetiformis, Thyroid Disease, Systemic lupus erythematosus, Insulin-dependent diabetics, Liver disease, Collagen vascular disease, Rheumatoid arthritis, and Sjogren's syndrome.  The connection between celiac and these deseases could be genetic---ASK your physician for more details...

Q.     Is Food Allergies, the same as Food Intolerances?
A.     NO, food allergies are different from food intolerances.  In food intolerances, there is an adverse reaction to a food for reasons that do not involve the immune system. With lactose intolerance, for instance, a person lacks an enzyme necessary to digest milk sugar. As a result, when they consume dairy products they develop symptoms like bloating and diarrhea.  For food intolerances, there is a pill available to be able to help the body digest most food intolerances.  On the other hand, there is no cure for food allergies, and the only way to prevent a reaction is to strictly avoid the foods that prompt them.

Q.     Can my kid/Teen outgrow food allergies?
A.     While kids are most at risk for food allergies, many outgrow them. However, allergies to peanut, tree nuts, fish and shellfish are generally life-long. And fish and shellfish allergies tend to develop in adulthood.

Q.     What is Celiac Disease?
A.     Celiac Disease is a likelong digestive disorder found in individuals who are genetically susceptible.  Damage to the small intestine is caused by immunologically toxic reaction to the ingestion of gluten.  This does not allow foods to be properly absorbed.  Even small amounts of gluten in foods may affect those with Celiac Disease and cause health problems.  Damage can occur to the small bowel even in the absence of symptoms.

Q.     If I don't know what something is on the ingredients lable, should I just eat it any-way?
A.     NO!  It isn't worth triggering your Imune system and the damage to the small intestine that occures every time gluten is consumed, regardless of the amount eaten, or whether symptoms are present.

Q.     Are Wheat Free products Gluten Free?
A.     NO!  Wheat Free Products could still contain rye, barley, or other ingredients that are not GF.

Q.     If I use the same toaster for GF (Gluten Free) bread, and regular bread, can they get Contaminated?
A.     YES!  GF Bread CAN get contaminated, just by using the same toaster that has been used with  GF bread, and Non-GF bread.

Q.     Say im allergic to peanuts, and if eat a different kind of nut, like a cashew, would I be ok?    -by Andrew Cherrington
A.     Well, it would depend if you were alergic to cashews...because peanuts, can mean just a peanut, not all nuts.  If u have an anaphylactic reaction (where your throat closes up and you can't breath, swelling, heart failure, or your body starts to shut down, and can lead to death) to peanuts, then you should avoid all types of nuts, in the interest of safety.  I also reccomend you reading the paragraph titled Types Of Nuts on the Peanuts & soy page of this web site.

Q.     Are food allergies genetic?     -by Natalie
A.     YES, it has been established by scientific research that there is a genetic component that is tied to allergies.  A series of genetic mutations can make all this allergic reaction be triggered more easily.  Genetic abnormalities, therefore, passed on from a generation to another, give particular individuals a predisposition to suffer from allergy.  In these individuals, the immune system has some innate faults, and if the relevant allergen or allergens (the substance or body triggering the allergic reaction) enter the body in sufficient quantity, the allergic process is started.

Q.     What is the most common food allergy in the average american?
A.     The Most common food allergy in the average American is Peanuts.  Here is the "Top Eight" allergenic foods:
1.  Peanuts and peanut products
2.  Soy and soy products
3.  Egg and egg products
4.  Milk and milk products
5.  Tree nuts and tree nut products, the most allergenic of which are
     -Almond
     -Brazil nut
     -Cashew
     -Filbert (hazelnut)
     -Macadamia
     -Pecan
     -Pine nut
     -Pistachio
     -Walnut

6.  Fish and fish products (not all species have the same allergic potential)

7.  Shellfish: crustaceans (shrimp, prawn, lobster, crab, crayfish or crawfish)

8.  Wheat and wheat products

Name:


Your e-mail:


Your Question:
spacer


     If you have a question that hasn't been posted, send it to be in the forum above,
or e-mail me at
Sweethorse13A@cox.net and I will answer and/or reasearch your question to find the answer.  Then post it for people to learn from).     

Join the Mailing List
Enter name & email below:
Name:
Email:
Subscribe 

**Please check your email for
a confirmation email and complete
your free newsleter registration.
Thank You

Super Share

Share on Facebook

Twitter Follow Button

Paypal Donation Button

Please consider donating. I am a lifelong student, currently in medical school. Funds will be used to support and keep this website alive. Thank you!