Food Allergy

Education | Empowerment | Support

Wheat & Gluten: The Facts

          Wheat is most rich in gluten, with other grains containing a lesser mixture of gluten and gliadin.  Wheat gluten is frequently added to baked products made from other grains, including those made from soy flour.  Wheat sensitive individuals should avoid a product which includes other flours: because it is most likely that some wheat flour, or a derivative will also be present.  Even a gluten free product may contain a substance from the wheat family.  No data has indicated differences in the allergic profiles of the various wheat varieties, and they should all be viewed as potential allergens. 

          Hydrolyzed wheat proteins can be used in processed foods for flavoring purposes, or as a binder in Vegie. Burgers. 

Wheat can appear in various names on ingredient  labels, such as :

  1. all-purpose flour
  2. bleached flour
  3. bulgur (cracked wheat)
  4. bran
  5. cornstarch
  6. couscous
  7. durum wheat
  8. enriched flour
  9. farina
  10. gelatinized starch  (which could also indicate the presence of soy protein)
  11. gluten
  12. graham flour
  13. hard durum flour
  14. high gluten flour
  15. high protein flour
  16. hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  17. kamut
  18. miller's bran
  19. modified food starch
  20. modified starch
  21. MSG
  22. protein
  23. semolina
  24. spelt
  25. starch unbleached flour
  26. vegetable gum
  27. vegetable starch
  28. vital gluten
  29. wheat bran
  30. wheat flour
  31. wheat germ
  32. wheat gluten
  33. wheat starch
  34. wheat flour
  35. whole wheat
  36. whole wheat flour


          Ale, beer, wine. bourbon, whiskey, biscuits, breads (including rye bread), cakes, cookies, crackers, baking mixes, barley bread and drinks, battered foods, bouillon cubes, breaded meats, breaded vegetables, breakfast cerials, cady, canned processed meat, cerial grains, couscous, gravy, hot dogs, ice cream, ice cream cones, luncheon meats, licorice, macaroni, malt, malted milks, mils shakes, noodle producta, pasta, pepper, pies, processed meats, sausage, semolina, snack foods, soup mixes, soups, and soy sauce.    


 NOT allowed  ALLOWED
 all forms of wheat including...  amaranth
 wheat flour  beans, peas, & bean flours
 whest germ  buckwheat
 wheat bran  corn
 barley  millet
 cracked wheat  potato
 couscous  quinoa
 kamut  rice, wild rice
 malt  sorghum
 semolina (durum wheat)  soybean
 spelt  tapioca
 rye  teff

Source: tasteforlife magazine

Food you CAN'T Eat on a GF Diet

Beverages:          Postum, ovaltine, beer, ale, gin, some flavored and instant coffees, some herbal teas.  Some carbonated beverages (root beer), spirits from distilled grains (use your own judgment). 

 Breads:              All breads made with wheat, oat, rye, and barley flours.  All purchased crackers, croutons, bread crumbs, wafers, biscuits, and doughnuts containing any gluten flours.  Graham, soda, snack crackers, or tortillas containing wheat.

Cereals:              All cereals containing wheat, rye, oats, or barley, (both as grain, and as flavoring, such as malt flavoring, or malt syrup).

Dairy Products:    Malted milk, artificial cream (if not GF), some chocolate milk drinks, some commercial ice creams, some processed cheese spreads, flavored yogurt (containing gluten), some light, or fat-free dairy products (containing gluten). 

Desserts:             All pies, cakes, cookies, or any sweet that contains and wheat, oat, rye, or barley flour, or flavoring.  Most commercial pudding mixes, ice cream cones, prepared cake mixes using wheat flour.

Fats:                   Some commercial salad dressings, some mayonnaise (with modified starch).

Flours:                All flours or baking mixes containing wheat, rye, barley, or oats. And triticale.

Fruits and Juices:   Any commercially canned fruit with gluten thickening.

Meat, Fish, Poultry, and eggs:     Eggs in gluten-based sauce, prepared meats containing gluten, some fish canned in HVP, self-basting turkeys injected with HVP, imitation seafood containing wheat flour.

Pastas:              Noodles, Spaghetti, macaroni, or other pastas made with gluten flours.  Any canned pasta product.

Soups and chowders:     Most canned soups, most dehydrated soup mixes, bouillon and bouillon cubes containing HVP.

Vegetables:       All creamed, breaded, and scalloped vegetables.  Some canned baked beans, some prepared salad mixes.

Sweets:             Some commercial candies, some cake decorations.  Note:  icing sugar in Canada may contain wheat.

Condiments:     Some curry powder, some mixed spices, some ketchup, some prepared mustards, most soy  sauces.  Some pepper with wheat flour added (often found outside the United States).  

Food you CAN Eat on a GF Diet

  • Fresh fruit (If on anti-yeast diet, eat only fruits that can be peeled, no more than 2/day)
  • Fresh vegetables
  • Dried fruit (without sulfites)
  • Coconut (without sulfites)
  • Potato chips (READ labels-some have wheat or starch)
  • Potato sticks (same as above)
  • Popcorn (not buttered)
  • Rice cakes (read ingredients, some are NOT GF)
  • Rice crackers (Ka Me, Hol Grain and others)
  • Fresh meat, poultry, fish, shellfish and game
  • Corn
  • Millet
  • Teff
  • Rice and rice products (pasta, bread, etc.)
  • Quinoa, noodles and flour
  • Amaranth
  • Potato (fresh, starch, flour)
  • Buckwheat flour and groats (Kasha)
  • Soy (unless intolerant)
  • Corn flakes (if specified GF)
  • Yams, sweet potatoes (and flours)
  • Sorghum flour (Jowar)
  • Com meal (and polenta)
  • Most nuts (if not allergic)
  • Eggs (if not allergic or very PST deficient)
  • Beans
  • Lentils
  • Tapioca

GF Recipe: Citrus Fruit & Grain Salad


 4 Cups Cooked whole grains (brown rice, wild rice, quinoa, or a combination)
 2 navel oranges, peeled & chopped
 1/2 Cup minced fresh parsley
 1/3 Cup raisins
 1/4 Cup extra-virgin olive oil
 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
 1 Tbsp wine vinegar
 2 Tsp Dijon Mustard
 Salt and pepper

Combine the cooked grains, oranges, parsley, and raisins in a large bowl.  In small bowl, whisk together the oil, lemon juice, and mustard.  Pour over the grain and fruit.  Toss well.  Season w/salt and pepper and toss again.  Serve chilled.


Source: tasteforlife magazine

Baking Gluten-Free

   Gluten is the substance in baking that binds together all ingredients, so when baking with gluten free flours-you will need to find something that will bind together your ingredients, right?  Here are some helpful tips: 
  1. A combination of starches often works better than a single type, and adding egg, pectin powder, grated apple, or mashed banana might help to bind gluten-free dough. 
  2. Don't  use bread crumbs unless they are gluten free, for coating foods.  Although crushed gluten-free cornflakes makes a good alternative for coating foods and for gratins. 
  3. Do not dust or coat foods with wheat flour prior to cooking- you can either avoid coating altogether, or use naturally gluten-free flours, like cornmeal or rice flours. 
  4. Potato flour is usefull for thickining gravies, stews, casseroles, saucesm and soups. 
  5. Roll gluten-free products out on waxed paper; this makes it eiser to lift, and line a pan. 
  6. If the gluten-free pastry is very crumbly, press it over the bottom, and up the sides of the pan-rather than trying to roll it out. 
  7. Grease baking pans before use, even if they say they are non stick pans, or line them with baking parchment to prevent sticking. 
  8. It is also a good idea to bake a batch of gluten-free products, and put them in the freezer!  Gluten-free baked goods freeze well, and will keep better in the freezer, and for longer periods of time.
  • If you have any questions about binding burgers or sausages, or avoiding wheat contamination-please e-mail me, and I will gladly answer any questions.

Join the Mailing List
Enter name & email below:

**Please check your email for
a confirmation email and complete
your free newsleter registration.
Thank You

Super Share

Share on Facebook

Twitter Follow Button

Paypal Donation Button

Please consider donating. I am a lifelong student, currently in medical school. Funds will be used to support and keep this website alive. Thank you!